The American Philosophical Society, founded by Benjamin Franklin in 1743, proudly bears the title of the nation's oldest learned society.  Our founders participated in the birth of American democracy. It pains us greatly that all these years later, our nation's promise has yet to be fulfilled.  We join all Americans of good will in deploring the senseless murder of George Floyd at the hands of the Minneapolis police. Over these past months the Society has hosted a number of virtual programs.  Even as we now resume our work with the offering of new programs, our attention remains focused on the senseless loss of innocent lives and our commitment to the difficult, necessary conversations and actions we must all take to begin to ensure that such tragedies end. Read more about virtual programming and resources that can be accessed remotely. Read more about the APS response to COVID-19.

Staff

Executive Offices and Museum Gallery
104 South Fifth Street 
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3387
215-440-3400 | Fax 215-440-3450

Library
105 South Fifth Street
Philadelphia, Pa 19106-3386
215-440-3400 | Fax 215-440-3423


Administration

Robert M. Hauser
Executive Officer
rmhauser@amphilsoc.org

John Wolfe
Chief Financial Officer
jwolfe@amphilsoc.org

Jessica Frankenfield
Programs and Communications Associate
jfrankenfield@amphilsoc.org

Brunilda Matraku
Controller
bmatraku@amphilsoc.org

Marilyn Vignola
Executive Assistant
mvignola@amphilsoc.org


Development

Linda R. Jacobs
Director of Development
ljacobs@amphilsoc.org

Alexis Anderson
Director, Friends of the APS
aanderson@amphilsoc.org

Jennifer Murphy
Assistant for Development and Meetings
jmurphy@amphilsoc.org


Facilities

Nikolai A. Goripow
Custodial Supervisor
ngoripow@amphilsoc.org

Jeremy Schoenrock
Assistant Facilities Supervisor
jschoenrock@amphilsoc.org

Todd Schoenrock
Custodian
tschoenrock@amphilsoc.org

Donna Stumm
Custodian
dstumm@amphilsoc.org


Grants and Fellowships

Linda Musumeci
Director of Grants and Fellowships
lmusumeci@amphilsoc.org


Library & Museum

Patrick Spero
Librarian and Director
librarian@amphilsoc.org

Brian Carpenter
Curator of Native American Materials
bcarpenter@amphilsoc.org

Marian Christ
Assistant Librarian and Head Cataloguer
mchrist@amphilsoc.org

Tracey deJong
Processing Archivist
tdejong@amphilsoc.org

Joseph DiLullo
Reference and Digital Services Specialist
jdilullo@amphilsoc.org

Anne E. Downey
Head of Conservation
adowney@amphilsoc.org

David J. Gary
Associate Director of Collections
dgary@amphilsoc.org

Charles B. Greifenstein
Associate Librarian and Curator of Manuscripts
cgreifenstein@amphilsoc.org

Anisha Gupta
Assistant Conservator for Archival Materials
agupta@amphilsoc.org

Cynthia Heider
Digital Projects Specialist

cheider@amphilsoc.org

Brenna Holland
Assistant to the Librarian

bholland@amphilsoc.org

Magdalena Hoot
Curatorial Assistant
mhoot@amphilsoc.org

Megan Hosie
Front Desk & Library Support Assistant
mhosie@amphilsoc.org

Susan Laquer
Archivist

slaquer@amphilsoc.org

Adrianna Link
Head of Scholarly Programs
alink@amphilsoc.org

Valerie-Ann Lutz
Head of Manuscripts Processing
vlutz@amphilsoc.org

Michael Madeja
Head of Education Programs
mmadeja@amphilsoc.org

Estelle Markel-Joyet
Assistant Head of Cataloging
emarkel-joyet@amphilsoc.org

Bayard Miller
Head of Digital Scholarship and Technology
bmiller@amphilsoc.org

Michael P. Miller
Assistant Head of Manuscripts Processing and Library Registrar
mmiller@amphilsoc.org

Alyssa Mt. Pleasant
Program Director, Native American Scholars Initiative
amtpleasant@amphilsoc.org

Melanie Rinehart
Archivist
mrinehart@amphilsoc.org

Kyle Roberts
Associate Director of Library & Museum Programming
kroberts@amphilsoc.org

Alexandra Rospond
Museum Education Coordinator
arospond@amphilsoc.org

Paul Sutherland
Archivist of Native American Materials
psutherland@amphilsoc.org

Lydia Vazquez-Rivera
Library Access Officer
lvazquez@amphilsoc.org

Mary Grace Wahl
Associate Director for Collections and Exhibitions
mgwahl@amphilsoc.org

Renée Wolcott
Associate Conservator for Library and Archival Materials
rwolcott@amphilsoc.org


Meetings

Ann S. Westcott
Director of Meetings
westcott@amphilsoc.org


Members and Prizes

Nora Monroe
Director of Membership and Prizes
nmonroe@amphilsoc.org

Paul Murphy
Membership Assistant
pmurphy@amphilsoc.org


Publications

Mary C. McDonald
Director of Publications
mmcdonald@amphilsoc.org

Alison Swety Beninato
Associate Editor
aswety@amphilsoc.org