APS Members Frances Arnold and William Nordhaus Win Nobel Prize

Two APS Members are among the 2018 Nobel laureates. Frances Arnold (APS 2018) received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry and William Nordhaus (APS 2013) received the Nobel Prize in Economics. Since 1900, more than 240 Members have received the Nobel Prize. Read more about APS Members in the historic Member Directory

Frances Arnold, Linus Pauling Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering and Biochemistry at Caltec, was recognized "for directed evolution of enzymes." Her research has been applied to the development of more environmentally friendly pharmaceuticals and biofuels. 

William Nordhaus, Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University, was awarded the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel “for integrating climate change into long-run macroeconomic analysis.” Nordhaus spoke at the April 2014 General Meeting of the APS and presented his paper, "Carbon Pricing for Climate Change Policy." Watch the recording of his talk on the Digital Library

More from the blog

American Philosophical Society
Anisha Gupta