APS Announces 2019 Class of New Members

The American Philosophical Society is pleased to announce the election of new Members at its Spring 2019 Meeting. Today the Society has 1,013 elected members, 845 resident members and 168 international members from more than two dozen foreign countries. Only 5,676 members have been elected since 1743.  Since 1900, more than 260 members have received the Nobel Prize. 


David L. Donoho 
Professor of Statistics, Anne T. and Robert M. Bass Professor in the Humanities and Sciences, Stanford University

Kerry Emanuel 
Cecil & Ida Green Professor of Atmospheric Science, Co-Founder, Co-Director, The Lorenz Center, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Fernando Pereira 
Vice President and Engineering Fellow, Google, Inc.

David A. Tirrell 
Provost, Carl and Shirley Larson Provostial Chair, Ross McCollum-William H. Corcoran Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

Xiaowei Zhuang 
David B. Arnold Professor of Science, Director, Center for Advanced Imaging, Harvard University; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Fabiola Gianotti 
Director-General, CERN

Adi Shamir 
Paul and Marlene Borman Professorial Chair of Applied Mathematics, Department of Applied Mathematics, The Weizmann Institute of Science


Catherine Dulac 
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Higgins Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Lee and Ezpeleta Professor of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University

Laurie H. Glimcher 
President, Chief Executive Officer, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Richard and Susan Smith Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Erin K. O'Shea 
Investigator, President, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Paul C. Mangelsdorf Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology and Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University

Gary Ruvkun 
Professor of Genetics, Harvard Medical School; Hans-Hermann Schoene Distinguished Investigator, Department of Molecular Biology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Clifford J. Tabin 
George Jacob and Jacqueline Hazel Leder Professor of Genetics, Chair, Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School; Adjunct Professor of Health Sciences & Technology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Kamaljit S. Bawa 
Founder, President, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, India; Distinguished Professor of Biology, University of Massachusetts, Boston

Chris Stringer 
Research Leader in Human Origins, Natural History Museum, London


Larry M. Bartels 
Professor of Political Science, May Werthan Shayne Chair of Public Policy and Social Science, Vanderbilt University

Annette Gordon-Reed 
Charles Warren Professor of American Legal History, Harvard Law School; Professor of History, Harvard University

Martin Jay 
Sidney Hellman Ehrman Professor of History Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley

Roger B. Myerson 
Professor of Economics, David L. Pearson Distinguished Service Professor of Global Conflict Studies, Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago

Philip Tetlock 
Annenberg University Professor, Professor of Psychology, School of Arts and Sciences, and Professor of Management, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania


Kathy Eden 
Chavkin Family Professor of English, Professor of Classics, Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Columbia University

Brian Daniel Joseph 
Distinguished University Professor, Kenneth E. Naylor Professor of Slavic Languages and Linguistics, Professor of Linguistics, Ohio State University

Jonathan Lear 
John U. Nef Distinguished Service Professor, Committee on Social Thought and Department of Philosophy, University of Chicago

Naomi Oreskes 
Professor of the History of Science, Affiliated Professor of Earth and Planetary Science, Harvard University

Judith Jarvis Thomson 
Professor of Philosophy Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Karine Chemla 
Directrice de recherche classe exceptionnelle, Centre National de Recherche Scientifique

Jean-Louis Ferrary 
Directeur d’études emeritus, École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris

Romila Thapar 
Professor of History Emeritus, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi


S. James Anaya 
Dean, University Distinguished Professor, University of Colorado Law School

William Drayton 
Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ashoka: Innovators for the Public

Jennifer Higdon 
Composer; Milton L. Rock Chair in Composition Studies, The Curtis Institute of Music

John Lithgow 

Nancy Weiss Malkiel 
Professor of History Emeritus, Princeton University

David M. Rubenstein 
Co-Founder, Executive Chairman, The Carlyle Group

Patrick Spero 
Librarian, Director, Library of the American Philosophical Society

Patricia Williams 
James L. Dohr Professor of Law, Columbia University; Columnist, The Nation


David Cannadine 
President,  British Academy;  Dodge Professor of History, Princeton University; Visiting Professor of History, Oxford University

More from the blog