April 2024

John C. Mather, David Spergel, Michelle C. McDonald, Sabrina Bocanegra, Bayard L. Miller, Lance Becker, Jane Maienschein, Bonnie L. Milas, Sam Tisherman, Joeanna Arthur, Helen Quinn, Vinton G. Cerf, Robert James Miller, Nancy Weiss Malkiel, Joel Mokyr, Holly Mayer

Please note this is a tentative program, subject to change.

Meetings of the American Philosophical Society are held each April and November for elected Members, their families, and distinguished guests. Sessions are live streamed.

Thursday, April 25, 2024

10:00 am
Library Hall
Orientation for Members attending their First In-Person Meeting

1:00 pm
Benjamin Franklin Hall

Roger S. Bagnall
APS President
Welcome Remarks

Induction of Members Attending Their First Meeting

Jaqueline K. Barton
Vice President, in the Chair

From the Big Bang to Life, Observations and Questions from Astronomy
John C. Mather
Senior Astrophysicist in the Observational Cosmology Laboratory, 
The National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Goddard Space Flight Center

Studying the Shape and Composition of the Universe
David Spergel
President, Simons Foundation


Coffee: The Other Complicated Colonial Beverage
Michelle C. McDonald
Director of the Library & Museum, American Philosophical Society

Pay Attention to the Men and Women Behind the Curtain:
Behind the Scenes in Building The Revolutionary City
Sabrina Bocanegra
Assistant Head of Digitization and Digital Access, American Philosophical Society
Bayard L. Miller
Associate Director of Digital Initiatives and Technology, American Philosophical Society

4:00 pm
Philosophical Hall, 2nd Floor
Council Meeting

4:00–6:00 pm
APS Museum Visit, Sketching Splendor
Mary Grace Wahl
Associate Director of the Museum, American Philosophical Society

5:30 pm
Benjamin Franklin Hall
Cocktail Reception

Dinner on Your Own

7:00 pm 
Monaco Hotel, Copenhagen Room
New Members' Dinner

Friday Morning, April 26, 2024

7:30 am
Benjamin Franklin Hall


8:30 am
Benjamin Franklin Hall

Vice President, in the Chair

8:40 am

Benjamin Franklin Biostasis Conjecture Symposium 
Lance B. Becker, Moderator and Framer
Chair, Emergency Medicine, Northwell Health

Historical Context and Ethics
Jane Maienschein
Director, Center for Biology and Society at Arizona State University

The Current Realities of ECMO and HCA
Bonnie L. Milas
Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology and Critical Care, University of Pennsylvania


10:25 am
Benjamin Franklin Hall

Hypothermia as Treatment Practice
Sam Tisherman
Director of the Center for Critical Care and Trauma Education, University of Maryland

DARPA's Foundational Biostasis Program
Joeanna Arthur
Program Manager, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

Panel / Audience Discussion
Helen Quinn, Moderator
Professor of Particle Physics and Astrophysics, Emerita, Stanford University


1:00 pm
Benjamin Franklin Hall

Vice President, in the Chair

Herman Goldstine Lecture—The Internet's Milestones and Millstones 
Vinton Cerf
Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google


2:30 pm
Avery Gagliano

4:00 pm 
Philosophical Hall, 2nd Floor
Members' Business Meeting

6:00 pm
Benjamin Franklin Hall
Cocktails and Dinner

Nora Monroe, Director of Membership and Prizes Retirement Toast

Saturday Morning, April 27, 2024

7:45 am
Benjamin Franklin Hall

9:00 am

Opening Remarks

Vice President, in the Chair

A Promise Kept: Muscogee (Creek) Nation and McGirt v. Oklahoma
Robert J. Miller
Professor of Law, Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law, Arizona State University

William G. Bowen and the Challenges of American Higher Education
Nancy Weiss Malkiel
Professor of History, Emerita, Princeton University


The Growth of Useful Knowledge 
Joel Mokyr
Professor of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Economics and History, Northwestern University

Bearing Burdens, Taking Up Arms: Women with the Continental Army
Holly Mayer
Professor Emeritus, Duquesne University


Members and Friends Library Tour
Michelle C. McDonald
Director of the Library and Museum, American Philosophical Society

Bus departures:
1:00 pm and 3:00 pm in front of Benjamin Franklin Hall