Following the completion of renovations, the Society’s Library & Museum has begun expanding Reading Room services. All visitors to APS facilities should review the latest COVID vaccine and masking policies

2022 Patrick Suppes Prize in Philosophy of Science

Craig Callender in recognition of his book, What Makes Time Special?

Sabina Leonelli in recognition of her book, Data-Centric Biology

To be presented at the APS 2022 November Meeting Awards Ceremony.  The full citations will be posted at that time.

The Patrick Suppes Prize honors accomplishments in three deeply significant scholarly fields, with the prize rotating each year between philosophy of science, psychology or neuroscience, and history of science. The Patrick Suppes Prize in the Philosophy of Science is awarded for an outstanding book in philosophy of science appearing within the preceding six years.

The committee members were Nancy Cartwright (chair), Distinguished Professor, University of California, San Diego, Professor of Philosophy and co-director of CHESS, Durham University; Lorraine Daston, Professor, Director, Max Planck Institute for the History of Science, Visiting Professor of Social Thought and History, Committee on Social Thought, University of Chicago; Philip Kitcher, John Dewey Professor of Philosophy, Columbia University; and Stephen Stigler, Ernest DeWitt Burton Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago.