APS buildings are open to staff and invited guests. The Library is undergoing a renovation project that will make many collections inaccessible. It is expected to be completed in early 2022. 

2021 Judson Daland Prize

The 2021 recipient of the Judson Daland Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Patient-oriented Clinical Investigation is Sergiu P. Paşca.  Dr. Paşca is an Associate Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Stanford Center for Sleep Sciences and Medicine, The Bonnie Uytengsu and Family Director of the Stanford Brain Organogenesis Program, and Director of the Stanford Neuroscience Stem Cell Core, Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute, Stanford University.  The award will be presented at the 2022 April Meeting of the American Philosophical Society.  The citation for the award will be provided at that time.  
The prize is named for Dr. Judson Daland, born in 1860, a prominent Philadelphia physician and outstanding figure in medical research who left the bulk of his estate to the Society to support research in clinical medicine. The prize recognizes outstanding achievement in clinical investigation, particularly patient-oriented research.  The $50,000 prize is presented every 3 to 5 years. In addition to the prize, a Judson Daland Fellowship is awarded annually using these funds.

The Daland selection committee members are Clyde F. Barker (chair), former President, American Philosophical Society, Donald Guthrie Professor, Department of Surgery, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania; Lawrence H. Einhorn, Distinguished Professor, Livestrong Foundation Professor of Oncology, Professor of Medicine, Indiana University; Ronald M. Fairman, The Clyde F. Barker - William Maul Measey Professor of Surgery, Chief of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy, Vice-Chairman for Clinical Affairs, Department of Surgery, Professor of Surgery in Radiology, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania; and John N. Loeb, Professor Emeritus of Medicine,  Columbia University.