APS buildings are open to staff and invited visitors. The Library is under renovation until early 2022. Virtual programs are ongoing and some in person events are resuming. Read more about the APS's COVID response and operating procedures.

2020 Jacques Barzun Prize

The selected recipient for the 2020 Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History is Francesca Trivellato, Andrew W. Mellon Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study, for her book The Promise and Peril of Credit, Princeton University Press, 2019.  The prize will be presented at the American Philosophical Society’s November Meeting in 2021.  The citation for the prize will be posted at that time.

The Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History is awarded annually to the author whose book exhibits distinguished work in American or European cultural history.  Established by a former student of Jacques Barzun, the prize honors this historian and cultural critic who was elected a member of the American Philosophical Society in 1984.   

The selection committee consisted of Michael Wood (chair), Charles Barnwell Straut Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Princeton University; David Hollinger, Preston Hotchkis Professor Emeritus, University of California, Berkeley; and Robert B. Pippin, Evelyn Stefansson Nef Distinguished Service Professor, Committee on Social Thought, Department of Philosophy, University of Chicago.