John Frederick Lewis Award

Established by a gift from the widow of John F. Lewis, to honor the outstanding maritime lawyer who played a major role in various cultural institutions in Philadelphia. Since 1981 the award has recognized the best book published by the Society in a given year.



Edward J. Olszewski,

for "Cardinal Pietro Ottoboni (1667-1740) and the Vatican Tomb of Pope Alexander VIII"



James E. McClellan,

for Specialist Control: The Publications Committee of the Académie Royale des Sciences (Paris), 1700-1973




Gunther S. Stent,

for Paradoxes of Free Will



A. Mark Smith,

for Alhacen's Theory of Visual Perception: A Critical Edition, with English Translation and Commentary, of the First Three Books of Alhacen's De aspectibus, the Medieval Latin Version of Ibn al-Haytham's Kitab al-Manazir



June Z. Fullmer (posthumous),

for Young Humphry Davy: The Making of an Experimental Scientist



Francesca Rochberg,

for Babylonian Horoscopes



Whitfield J. Bell, Jr.,

for Patriot-Improvers, Biographical Sketches of Members of the American Philosophical Society, 1743-1769

Martin W. Daly,

for The Sirdar. Sir Reginald Wingate and the British Empire in the Middle East




Joseph R. McElrath,

for The Apprenticeship Writings of Frank Norris, 1896-1898



Herbert H. Kaplan,

for Russian Overseas Commerce with Great Britain During the Reign of Catherine II

Corinne Comstock Weston,

for The House of Lords and Ideological Politics: Lord Salisbury's Referendal Theory and the Conservative Party, 1846-1922



Paul Bushkovitch and Maija Jansson,

for England and the North: The Russian Embassy of 1613-1614

Barbara Nevling Porter,

for Images, Power and Politics: Figurative Aspects of Esarhaddon's Babylonian Policy