John Frederick Lewis Award

Established by a gift from the widow of John F. Lewis, to honor the outstanding maritime lawyer who played a major role in various cultural institutions in Philadelphia. Since 1981 the award has recognized the best book published by the Society in a given year.



Edward J. Olszewski
for his monograph Parmigianino's Madonna of the Long Neck: A Grace Beyond the Reach of Art (Memoirs, volume 269)



Anthony M. Cummings
in recognition of his monograph Nino Pirrotta: An Intellectual Biography.



Neil L. Rudenstine

in recognition of his book The House of Barnes: The Man, The Collection, The Controversy.



Victoria R. Bricker and Harvey M. Bricker

in recognition of their book, Astronomy in the Maya Codices.



A. Mark Smith

in recognition of his book, Alhacen on Refraction: A Critical Edition, with English Translation and Commentary, of Book 7 of Alhacen's De Aspectibus, the Medieval Latin Version of Ibn al-Haytham's Kitab al-Manazir.



Stephen G. Brush

in recognition of his book Choosing Selection: The Revival of Natural Selection in Anglo-American Evolutionary Biology, 1930-1970



Rosemary Lévy Zumwalt

for her monograph, Franz Boas and W.E.B. DuBois at Atlanta University, 1906



Lionel Gossman

for his monograph, The Making of a Romantic Icon: The Religious Context of Friedrich Overbeck's “Italia und Germania”



Vincent Ilardi

for his monograph, "Renaissance Vision from Spectacles to Telescopes"



Derek S. Linton,

for his monograph, "Emil von Behring: Infectious Disease, Immunology, Serum Therapy."